top of page
My Pick:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

12 Days of Hallmark

Christmas to me means watching corny, sentimental holiday movies. Whether it’s watching a Christmas classic like It’s A Wonderful Life (This movie is not corny. It is just awesome! If you haven’t seen it…of course you have seen it!) or watching a marathon of Hallmark holiday specials on a Saturday afternoon, I love me some happy endings, especially during the Christmas season. However, I would like to make a disclaimer. I am not a fan of The Christmas Card. Now like I said I openly admit to being in love with all things sappy and gushy, but this movie takes the cheese factor to the “I think I’m now lactose intolerant” level. It’s like The Lucky One meets…nope it’s exactly like The Lucky One minus all the heavy breathing and ridiculous sexual tension, except somehow it’s worse. Zac Efron makes The Lucky One; whereas, the lead in The Christmas Card just creepily stares at the girl all the time and when he talks his face doesn’t really move. He looks like a robot.

Last night I caught A Very Merry Mix-Up as it ended. Don’t worry I’ve seen it before, probably when it first premiered. 2 thoughts came to mind as I watched it:

  • This movie like A Christmas Card fits JJ’s stereotype of Hallmark movies perfectly, which is just annoying. He says that all Hallmark movies start off with a girl dating a jerk, but then she meets her perfect match, and is forced to make the difficult decision to stay with the jerk or live happily ever after with her soulmate. I know it’s a real sit-on-the-edge-of-your-seat moment.

  • Even with all the syrupy romantic moments, there is still something so wonderful about watching people fall in love, even when it’s not real. Like Iris in The Holiday says, “I like corny. I’m looking for corny in my life.” It makes me appreciate and remember how blessed I am for the sappy, mushy moments I have in my own life.

JJ and my wedding anniversary is fast approaching. On December 23rd, we will be married for 2 years. It has been a blast and, if I’m being honest, a challenge being married. As much as I love me some romantic movies, there are some things they highlight and some things they leave out. As we approach our anniversary, let me dispel 5 of the myths of Hallmark romances from the reality.

  • If you marry your best friend, you will end up having dance parties at midnight to “oldies” like NSYNC, Britney Spears, and Backstreet Boys. (We were born in the 80’s. Those are our equivalent of “oldies.” Don’t judge us!) Just remember to stretch, or you may have muscle aches at work the next day.

  • You probably won’t start out with a state of the art kitchen with 2 pristine ovens, a granite island in the center, and a breakfast nook overlooking a pond or lake. It’s just as easy to order take-out in a small kitchen, so no worries.

  • Your guy won’t always be cleanly shaven, and when he is, your bathroom sink will suddenly grow a beard.

  • Unlike in Hallmark, there isn’t perfection. There will be times when you will both put your foot in your mouth, sometimes at the same moment, which is what we call a “fight.” More importantly you or your spouse will also have moments when you say exactly what the other one needed to hear and they will feel blanketed in your love.

  • Love is more than just saying “I love you” and sharing a perfect kiss accompanied by an angelic orchestra. If you want the real definition, check out 1 Corinthians 13. My loose translation goes something like this: Love is being willing to say sorry first. Love is not responding in anger when your hubby has left every kitchen drawer and cabinet door open as they prepared their lunch. Love is taking the time to tell your husband how handsome he looks. Love is me putting down my phone and actually listening to him talk about his latest woodworking project. Love is letting go of the desire to be right and choosing to be on the same team.

My love story may not be a holiday special, but it's still my favorite. Take that Hallmark!

bottom of page